What is Thinking Aloud?

To think out loud, i.e. expressing thoughts verbally, is the fundamental concept of the usability test method “Thinking Aloud”. The method consists of requesting testers to voice their thought process verbally while they solve a task on a website. The spoken thoughts are then analyzed. In the field of usability, websites are commonly evaluated with this approach. But Think-Aloud can also be used to collect feedback on videos or ads. The testers are usually accompanied by an instructor who, if necessary, reminds them to speak out loud and may ask questions if necessary. It is also possible to conduct remote studies.

Advantages of Thinking Aloud

Thinking-Aloud provides a good understanding of the thoughts and values of potential users. Uncertainties can be eliminated by asking questions. The analysis is easy, as only the spoken word needs to be understood and summarized. Without the need for interpretation, user feedback can be collected quickly with this methodology.

EYEVIDO Lab mit Eyetracker

Disadvantages of Thinking Aloud

The main disadvantage of this method is that the natural behavior of testers is strongly affected. Speaking slows down the interaction. The focus is often no longer on the most efficient execution of the task, but on the feedback that is given. The distraction caused by any questions from the study director is high. Frequently, the focus remains on individual topics, such as specific areas of a website or navigational elements. In a natural situation, the tester would quickly leave a problematic area. With Thinking Aloud, arguments are often repeated, and problems are reinforced, especially if the tester receives positive feedback from the study director (“social desirability”). At the same time, introverted or non-native speakers find it difficult to express themselves and voice criticism in a test situation. This limits the target group.

Thinking Aloud with EYEVIDO Lab

With the EYEVIDO Lab software, Thinking-Aloud studies are carried out by recording speech during the user session. The study instructor does not need a dictation machine and does not have to carry a transcript of the conversation. An automatic transcription of verbal comments is currently being developed and will further simplify study evaluation in the future.

Testers who visit the same website are collected on a screenshot. Any desired tester can be picked individually, and their feedback played back. Either from selecting the tester in the screenshot or alternatively through a screen casted single user session. This makes the analysis for specific pages very efficient.

In both cases, the tested website is stored as a screen recording, so that it is always clear to which part of the website the comments refer to.

“User Inyerface” is a purposefully terribly built modern web page and teaches you a lesson about usability while making you suffer through it. The EYEVIDO team was up for the challenge and tried to complete each task while recording reactions with eye-tracking and voice recording.

Thinking Aloud with eye tracking

Thinking Aloud influences the behavior of testers. Therefore, eye tracking data recorded in combination with Thinking Aloud cannot be used to analyze user behavior. However, eye-tracking data does provide interesting conclusions as to which sections verbal remarks refer to. The entirety of the eye-tracking data provides information about which parts were particularly in focus during Thinking Aloud and, for example, which parts were particularly heavily criticized.

What is retrospective Thinking Aloud (RTA)?

A variant of Thinking Aloud is the Retrospective Thinking Aloud (RTA). Here, the tester initially interacts with a website as uninfluenced as possible without speaking. For example, they solve an everyday task under conditions that are as real as possible. In the meantime, the user data (screen, mouse, possibly eye-tracking, …) is recorded. Afterward, the tester, together with the study instructor, watch the video of the session and the tester is asked to comment retrospectively on their actions and thoughts. The procedure is time-consuming but very meaningful. Most of the disadvantages of Thinking Aloud are eliminated with this procedure.

Eye-tracking data recorded in the RTA helps the tester to remember the previous experience and to comment on specific areas.

+49 261 899 44990 newsletter Christoph Schaefer Portrait

Create a free trial account now and test our usability testing tool now!

Test EVEVIDO Lab!

Was ist Thinking Aloud?

Laut denken, also Gedanken laut auszusprechen, ist die Grundidee des Usability-Testansatzes „Thinking Aloud“. Die Think-Aloud-Methode besteht darin, Probanden aufzufordern, laut zu denken, während sie eine Aufgabe auf einer Webseite lösen. Die ausgesprochenen Gedanken werden anschließend analysiert. Im Usability-Bereich werden häufig Webseiten auf diese Weise untersucht. Aber auch zu Videos oder Werbeanzeigen kann mit Thinking-Aloud Feedback gesammelt werden. Die Testpersonen werden dabei in der Regel durch einen Studienleiter begleitet, der, falls nötig, an das laute Aussprechen der Gedanken erinnert und ggf. Fragen stellt. Auch eine Durchführung von Remote-Studien ist möglich.

Vorteile von Thinking Aloud

Thinking-Aloud liefert ein gutes Verständnis der Gedankenwelt und Werte potenzieller Nutzer. Durch Nachfragen können Unklarheiten beseitigt werden. Die Analyse ist leicht, da nur das gesprochene Wort verstanden und zusammengefasst werden muss. Ohne Interpretation kann mit dieser Methodik schnell Nutzerfeedback gesammelt werden.

Nachteile von Thinking Aloud

Der größte Nachteil an diesem Verfahren ist, dass das Verhalten der Testpersonen stark beeinflusst wird. Durch das Sprechen wird die Interkation verlangsamt. Der Fokus liegt häufig nicht mehr auf der möglichst effizienten Durchführung der Aufgabe, sondern auf den Rückmeldungen, die gegeben werden. Die Ablenkung durch eventuelle Nachfragen des Studienleiters ist groß. Häufig finden Fokussierungen auf einzelne Themen statt, etwa spezifische Bereiche einer Webseite oder Elemente der Bedienung. In einer natürlichen Situation würde der Tester in seiner Interaktion einen problematischen Bereich schnell wieder verlassen. Im Thinking Aloud werden häufig Argumente wiederholt und Probleme untermauert, besonders bei positiver Rückmeldung durch den Studienleiter („Soziale Erwünschtheit“). Gleichzeitig fällt es introvertierten oder nicht-muttersprachlichen Personen schwer, sich in einer Testsituation zu äußern und Kritik anzubringen. Die Zielgruppe wird somit eingeschränkt.

Thinking Aloud mit EYEVIDO Lab

Mit der Software EYEVIDO Lab werden Thinking-Aloud-Studien realisiert, indem der Ton während der Testdurchführung aufgezeichnet wird. Der Studienleiter benötig kein Diktiergerät und muss kein Gesprächsprotokoll mitführen. Eine automatische Transkription der verbalen Äußerungen befindet sich in der Entwicklung und wird die Studienauswertung in Zukunft noch weiter vereinfachen.

Die Tonaufnahme mit dem gesprochenen Feedback wird später auf Screenshot-Basis, für alle Nutzer, die die gleiche Webseite betrachtet haben, oder als komplette Nutzersession als Screencast abgespielt. Besonders das Abspielen des gesprochenen Wortes zu einem bestimmten Screenshot macht die Analyse des Gesprochenen sehr effizient, da explizit das Feedback zu einer bestimmten Seite abgespielt werden kann.

In beiden Fällen ist die untersuchte Webseite als Bildschirmaufzeichnung hinterlegt, so dass immer deutlich ist, auf welchen Teil der Webseite sich die Äußerungen beziehen

“User Inyerface” ist eine bewusst nicht intuitiv aufgebaute Webseite mit vielen “Usability-Fallen”. Das Team von EYEVIDO hat sich der Herausforderung gestellt und versucht, jede Aufgabe zu bewältigen, während Reaktionen mit Eyetracking und Sprachaufzeichnungen aufgezeichnet wurden.

Thinking Aloud mit Eyetracking

Thinking Aloud beeinflusst das Verhalten von Testpersonen. Deshalb lassen sich Eyetracking-Daten die in Kombination mit Thinking Aloud aufgezeichnet wurden, nicht zur Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens heranziehen. Allerdings liefern die Eyetracking-Daten interessante Rückschlüsse darauf, auf welchen Bereich sich verbale Äußerungen beziehen. Die Gesamtheit der Eyetracking-Daten liefert Informationen darüber, welche Teile besonders im Thinking Aloud im Fokus standen und z.B. besonders heftig kritisiert wurden.

Was ist retrospective Retrospective Thinking Aloud (RTA)?

Eine Variante des Thinking Aloud ist das Retrospective Thinking Aloud (RTA). Dabei interagiert die Testperson zunächst so unbeeinflusst wie möglich mit einer Webseite ohne dabei zu sprechen. Sie löst beispielsweise eine alltägliche Aufgabe unter möglichst realen Bedingungen. Währenddessen werden die Nutzerdaten (Bildschirm, Maus, evtl. Eyetracking, …) aufgezeichnet. Im Anschluss betrachtet die Testperson gemeinsam mit dem Studienleiter oder der Studienleiterin das Video ihrer eigenen Nutzersitzung und kommentiert rückblickend ihr Vorgehen und ihre Gedanken. Das Verfahren ist zeitaufwändig, aber sehr aussagekräftig, die meisten Nachteile des Thinking Alouds entfallen mit diesem Verfahren.

Im RTA unterstützen aufgezeichnete Eyetracking-Daten die Testperson dabei, sich an das vorhergehende Erlebnis zu erinnern und sich zum betrachteten Bereich zu äußern

+49 261 899 44990 Newsletter Christoph Schaefer Portrait

Jetzt kostenlosen Testaccount anlegen und unser
Usability Testing Tool EYEVIDO Lab testen!

EYEVIDO Lab testen!